This week was the last time I taught in the school, and to say goodbye to the students we decided that instead of doing bookwork we would do cultural presentations, which basically meant I have spent a month creating the presentations and trying to make a massive poster with all of the London landmarks on it. It was definitely worth it to see the children learning about famous English people one day and going on a virtual tour of London the next.

WP_20170530_003

To my surprise, there were even a few who recognised David Attenborough! The other famous people included David Beckham, the Queen, Henry VIII, Shakespeare, Harry Potter and Sherlock Holmes, and they loved learning about these people!

In their last lesson I took them on a virtual tour of London, starting at the London Eye and passing by Big Ben, the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, St. Paul’s, Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace and China Town. More than a couple decided that they would try to visit London in the future!

At the end of the last lesson with each class they gave me an envelope which had drawings by each member of the class inside, which I have now made into a book. I got mobbed by all of them with a massive group hug and yes, they did manage to make me cry, but at least I wasn’t the only one!! I’ll definitely miss them and it’s been a massive, amazing experience to have been able to teach them.

WP_20170531_006

Then we had a lunch with all the teacher`s where they made me a cardboard top hat and a speech bubble which described me to a “t”. It’s been an honor to be able to work alongside such amazing people and make so many new friends!

IMG-20170601-WA0027

And so I’ve reached the end of my official year abroad, so I guess I should get over the blues with a trip to Mallorca next Tuesday!

