The festive period is well underway in CEIP Illes Columbretes, where the whole school has been transformed. A variety of (hard worked) Christmas decorations fill every nook and cranny, so much so that I have been finding new decorations every day! From the elf silhouettes running up and down the stairs, to the hanging decorations and the stockings lining the hallways, the school bell being changed to All I Want For Christmas Is Youuuuuuuuuuu, along with the more typical tinsel etc, the school is full of festive fun! However, there is one thing that really caught my attention. Despite Spain’s weird hatred of Christmas trees (in the town squares 99% are white metal conical structures with tinsel on them…), I have never seen better nativity scenes! The sheer scale of the scenes that they create is amazing, with the school one having

  • The typical nativity scene in the barn
  • Shepherds in their fields looking after their pigs and sheep
  • The three kings riding in from the distance on their camels
  • King Herod ordering his Roman soldiers to find the baby Jesus
  • and, my favourite of all…. A river, complete with DUCKS(!) and fishermen.

I’m used to just the typical, barn scene, so walking into the school and seeing the 2m square nativity scene made quite an impression!

 

This week in school has been super fun, with a lot of the activities being of the typical, last-weeks-before-Christmas type. Between (still) trying to teach Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer to Year 1 and writing Christmas wish list letters to Rudolph in Year 2 and 3 (there seems to be a theme running here…) it has been very enjoyable and has reminded me of all those magical Christmas “traditions” that I don’t do anymore, although nothing will stop me leaving Santa a mince pie and Rudolph a carrot on Christmas Eve, sorry! However, the letters to Rudolph have served to remind me how out of touch I am with anything interesting to kids, and I have been taught about many different robots, dolls and brands, along with finding out why a set of Luna rollerblades is better than normal rollerblades. I have also found out that kids these days ask for a LOT! I mean, does a Year 3 student really need the new Samsung Galaxy? It has also served to show me that even if you explain the task extremely clearly, there will also be an endless amount of children who don’t change the underlined, different coloured parts of the model I had written on the board. Oh well, I guess Sam aged 21 who lives in València will be getting a lot of presents this Christmas!

But thank goodness there is so much festive feeling in the school, because otherwise I would not be anywhere near ready! Who would have thought, while planning my year abroad, that I would be able to go to the beach only 10 days before Christmas and not freeze to death? And it’s not like I was wearing a parka or anything even halfway similar, I was dressed in jeans, a t-shirt and a light jumper! Perks of being a language student! And to top it off, the view on my way home from Castelló was pretty awesome too! (The main picture of this blogpost!)

And finally, away from the school but sticking with teaching, another thing I never thought I would be doing on my year abroad is using Carly Rae Jepson to teach the Simple Present and the Present Continuous. Sometimes you’ve just gotta grab their attention.

wp_20161213_001wp_20161213_002

